Harold Fish Defense    



Home

Participate in an effort to PAY OFF Harold Fish's Legal Expenses!


SB1449 passed in the legislature but still needs to be signed by the Governor. 
THIS IS NOT OVER YET!

Click here for the Appeal doc.

7. Appeal: Shortened Final Reply
6. Appeal: Fish's Reply Too Long.

5. Appeal: Reply Brief

4. Appeal: The State's Answering Brief (coming)

3. Appeal: Opening Brief

2. Motion for Retrial

1. Hal Fish's Statement at the Sentencing Hearing


* Fish/Detective Feagan Interviews

* Conversation with County Attorney Office and Sheriff Department


6. Court: Fish to get new trial

* Retrial ordered in fatal shooting of hiker

* Arizona man gets new trial in self-defense case

5. Napolitano Vetoes Self Defense Bill AGAIN!
The State Legislature met her demands and she still vetoed it.

4. Bill: SB1166

3. Napolitano Vetoes Self Defense Bill

2. Bill: SB1302
Senate: 47 to 0: PASS
House 42 to 17: PASS
Governor: VETO

1. Lawmakers vote to make self-defense change retroactive


* AZ Supreme Court Decision - Garcia

* SB 1145 self-defense; home protection (restores "innocent until proven guilty")

* Minutes from Committee of Judciary

* SB 1145 Chronology


1997 - 43rd Legislature
HB2408 - The "innocent until proven guilty" 1997 law.
Look for 13-103, 13-205.

Did anyone read ARS 13-115. Presumption of innocence and benefit of doubt; degrees of guilt? Was this in conflict prior to SB1145 (2007)?  YES!


Innocent-Unless-Proven-Guilty Restored in Arizona !!
Gun Law Update 2006 AZ
 

Arizona Castle Doctrine explained - In plain English

Closer look at AZ "Castle Doctrine" bill

Payson Roundup 

Dateline's "Trail of Evidence"

"Trail of Evidence" transcript

Jury Nullification

Google News: Harold Fish  

...about the Webmaster

 

To see SB1166 on the Arizona State Legislature's website, <Click Here>

History:  The Arizona State Legislature passed SB1145 in 2006 which changed self defense cases from "guilty until proven innocent" back to "innocent until proven guilty."  This bill had an emergency clause to it for the purpose of applying directly to cases such as Hal Fish's.  (See Minutes from Committee of Judiciary in the link to the left.  Hal Fish's case was a major consideration and the purpose of the emergency clause.)

In State vs. Garcia, the Supreme Court ruled that the language in SB1145 was not clear enough for them to consider the intent of the law to have been retroactive.

To clarify the language of SB1145, SB1302 was passed by the legislature, but vetoed by the governor for reasons that she states in her veto letter. Her main complaint appears to be the unknown number of cases that SB1302 would affect.  Rather than taking the time (she had 90 days) to find out, she vetoed the bill.

SB1166 is narrower in scope.  The number of cases is known and is few.  They are listed below.

Voting Record for SB1302 and SB1166

HOUSE SENATE
Party Representative District SB1302 SB1166 (after reconsideration) Party Senator District SB1302 SB1166
R  Adam Driggs 11 Y  Y  adriggs@azleg.gov  116 926-3016  417-3007 D  Albert Hale 2 Y Y
D  Albert Tom 2 N  NV  atom@azleg.gov  335 926-5862  417-3102 D  Amanda Aguirre 24 Y  Y 
R  Andrew M. Tobin 1 Y  Y  atobin@azleg.gov  308 926-5172  417-3085 R  Barbara Leff 11 Y  Y 
R  Andy Biggs 22 Y  Y  abiggs@azleg.gov  312 926-4371  417-3022 R  Carolyn S. Allen 8 Y Y
D  Ann Kirkpatrick 2 N  N  akirkpatrick@azleg.gov  322 926-5160  417-3002 D  Charlene Pesquiera 26 NV NV
D  Barbara McGuire 23 Y Y bmcguire@azleg.gov  325 926-3012  417-3123 R  Chuck Gray 19 Y  Y 
D  Ben R. Miranda 16 N N bmiranda@azleg.gov  323 926-4893  417-3116 D  Debbie McCune Davis 14 Y Y
R  Bill Konopnicki 5 Y  Y  bkonopnicki@azleg.gov  219 926-5409  417-3105 R  Jack W. Harper 4 Y  Y 
R  Bob Robson 20 Y  Y  brobson@azleg.gov  218 926-5549  417-3120 R  Jake Flake 5 Y Y
R  Bob Stump 9 Y  Y  bstump@azleg.gov  303 926-5413  417-3109 R  Jay Tibshraeny 21 Y Y
D  Chad Campbell 14 N  N  chcampbell@azleg.gov  121 926-3026  417-3037 R  Jim Waring 7 Y  Y 
D  Cloves C. Campbell, Jr.  16 N N clcampbell@azleg.gov  124 926-3042  417-3117 R  John Huppenthal 20 Y  Y 
D  David Bradley 28 N N dbradley@azleg.gov  337 926-3300  417-3028 D  Jorge Luis Garcia 27 Y  Y 
D  David Lujan 15 N  N  dlujan@azleg.gov  332 926-5829  417-3115 R  Karen Johnson 18 Y Y
D  David Schapira  17 Y N dschapira@azleg.gov  122 926-3028  417-3038 D  Ken Cheuvront 15 Y  Y 
R  Doug Clark 6 Y  Y  dclark@azleg.gov  115 926-3018  417-3006 D  Leah Landrum Taylor 16 Y  Y 
D  Ed Ableser 17 Y  N  eableser@azleg.gov  331 926-4118  417-3164 R  Linda Gray 10 Y  Y 
R  Eddie Farnsworth 22 Y  Y  efarnsworth@azleg.gov  222 926-5735  417-3122 D  Marsha Arzberger 25 Y  Y 
D  Jack A. Brown 5 Y  N  jbrown@azleg.gov  316 926-4129  417-3010 D  Meg Burton Cahill 17 Y  Y 
D  Jackie Thrasher 10 Y N jthrasher@azleg.gov  120 926-3024  417-3110 R  Pamela Gorman 6 Y  Y 
R  Jennifer J. Burns 25 Y Y jburns@azleg.gov  111 926-5836  417-3125 D  Paula Aboud 28 Y  Y 
R  Jerry Weiers 12 Y  Y  jpweiers@azleg.gov  131 926-5894  417-3012 D  Rebecca Rios 23 Y  Y 
R  Jim Weiers 10 Y Y jweiers@azleg.gov  221 926-4173  417-3153 D  Richard Miranda 13 Y  Y 
R  John B. Nelson 12 Y  Y  jnelson@azleg.gov  223 926-5872  417-3112 R  Robert "Bob" Burns 9 Y Y
R  John Kavanagh 8 Y Y jkavanagh@azleg.gov  307 926-5170  417-3108 R  Robert Blendu 12 Y  Y 
R  John McComish 20 Y  Y  jmccomish@azleg.gov  217 926-5898  417-3020 R  Ron Gould 3 Y Y
R  Jonathan Paton 30 NV  Y  jpaton@azleg.gov  341 926-3235  417-3030 R  Thayer Verschoor 22 Y  Y 
R  Judy M. Burges 4 Y  Y  jburges@azleg.gov  342 926-5861  417-3104 R  Timothy S. Bee 30 Y Y
R  Kirk Adams 19 Y  Y  kadams@azleg.gov  113 926-5495  417-3019 R  Tom O'Halleran 1 Y  Y 
D  Kyrsten Sinema 15 Y  NV  ksinema@azleg.gov  333 926-5058  417-3015 D  Victor Soltero 29 Y  Y 
D  Lena S. Saradnik 26 N  NV  lsaradnik@azleg.gov  329 926-3398  417-3126
D  Linda Lopez 29 N  N  llopez@azleg.gov  125 926-4089  417-3029
R  Lucy Mason 1 Y Y lmason@azleg.gov  304 926-5874  417-3001
D  Lynne Pancrazi 24 Y  N  lpancrazi@azleg.gov  324 926-3004  417-3179
D  Manuel V. Alvarez 25 Y N malvarez@azleg.gov  129 926-5895  417-3025
R  Marian McClure 30 Y  Y  mmcclure@azleg.gov  306 926-3312  417-3130
R  Mark Anderson 18 Y  Y  manderson@azleg.gov  313 926-4467  417-3018
D  Mark DeSimone 11 Y  N  mdesimone@azleg.gov  123 926-3037  417-3111
D  Martha Garcia 13 N N mgarcia@azleg.gov  126 926-5830  417-3113
R  Michele Reagan 8 Y  Y  mreagan@azleg.gov  220 926-5828  417-3008
R  Nancy K. Barto 7 Y Y nbarto@azleg.gov  310 926-5766  417-3011
R  Nancy McLain 3 Y  Y  nmclain@azleg.gov  344 926-5051  417-3003
D  Olivia Cajero Bedford 27 N  N  ocajerobedford@azleg.gov  338 926-5835  417-3027
R  Pete Hershberger 26 Y  NV  phershberger@azleg.gov  112 926-5839  417-3026
D  Pete Rios 23 N N prios@azleg.gov  334 926-5761  417-3023
D  Phil Lopes 27 N N plopes@azleg.gov  320 926-3278  417-3127
R  Ray Barnes 7 Y  Y  rbarnes@azleg.gov  110 926-5503  417-3107
R  Rich Crandall 19 Y  Y  rcrandall@azleg.gov  118 926-3020  417-3119
R  Rick Murphy 9 Y  Y  rmurphy@azleg.gov  345 926-3255  417-3009
D  Robert Meza 14 N  N  rmeza@azleg.gov  339 926-3425  417-3114
R  Russell K. Pearce 18 Y Y rpearce@azleg.gov  114 926-5760  417-3118
R  Sam Crump 6 Y Y scrump@azleg.gov  117 926-3014  417-3048
D  Steve Farley 28 N N sfarley@azleg.gov  119 926-3022  417-3128
D  Steve M. Gallardo 13 N  N  sgallardo@azleg.gov  321 926-3392  417-3013
R  Steven B. Yarbrough 21 N  Y  syarbrough@azleg.gov  302 926-5863  417-3121
D  Theresa Ulmer 24 Y N tulmer@azleg.gov  318 926-3002  417-3124
R  Tom Boone 4 Y  Y  tboone@azleg.gov  206 926-3297  417-3004
D  Tom Prezelski 29 Y  N  tprezelski@azleg.gov  330 926-3424  417-3129
R  Trish Groe 3 Y  NV  tgroe@azleg.gov  309 926-5408  417-3103
R  Warde V. Nichols 21 Y Y wnichols@azleg.gov  130 926-5168  417-3021



Cases affected by SB 1166:

Key: 
C = Class
F = Felony
DNR = Dangerous, non-repetitive
DOV = Date of Violation


GREEN HIGHLITE: No impact as cases receive benefit of April 24, 2006 enactment with either a post enactment date of violation or trial completed and retroactive benefit of enactment given at trial. 
YELLOW HIGHLITE: No caseload impact as case is still pending trial 

Not included in the caseload report:

  • State v. Garcia
  • State v. Fish

COCONINO COUNTY
Case Name:  State v. Perry Tyrone Parker
Docket Number:  1 - CA-CR 06-0589 (Appeal)
Date of Violation:  Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary: Unknown
Offense Info: First Degree Murder (1 count) and 2 counts Agg Assault
Trial Status: Completed after April 24, enactment
Case Status: Guilty – on Appeal re Defendant’s request for State Burden Denied
If SB1302 were enacted it would NOT affect the Murder 
Conviction only the 2 counts of Agg Assault – Defense Atty 
believes state would likely dismiss 2 counts rather than retrial since 
they have the murder conviction and no SB1302 benefits would 
apply.
Defense Attorney: Allen Gerhardt, Coconino County Public Defender
(928)779-6659



 

COCHISE COUNTY

MARCH 2, 2007
NO CASE REPORTS AS OF 11:00 A.M. 




MARICOPA COUNTY

Case Name:  State v. Thomas Dobben
Docket Number: CR2005-135889
Date of Violation:  November 1, 2005
Brief Summary: The case is awaiting trial – already in the que for trial
Offense Info:  Second Degree Murder
Trial Status:  Pending trial
Case Status:  Same
Defense Attorney:  Bob Storrs – (602) 258-4545

 

Case Name: State v. Anton Louis
Docket Number: CR2005-012373
Date of Violation:  Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary: Unknown
Offense Info: Unknown
Trial Status: Pending
Case Status: Same
Defense Attorney:  Vonda Wilkens, Maricopa County Public Defender
(480) 217-2016 Private Cell


AND

Case Name:  State v. Jose Ortiz
Docket Number:  CR2006-140014
Date of Violation:  Post April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary:  Unknown
Offense Info:   Unknown
Trial Status:  Pending
Case Status:  Case already receives benefit of April 24, 2006 enactment
Defense Attorney:  Vonda Wilkens, Maricopa County Public Defender
(480) 217-2016 Private Cell

 

Case Name: State v. Jeffrey White
Docket Number:  CR2006-100889
Date of Violation:  Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary:  Unknown
Offense Info:  Unknown
Trial Status:  Pending
Case Status:  Same
Defense Attorney: Dan Patterson, Maricopa County Public Defender

 

Case Name:  State v. Joel Felix Cota
Docket Number:  CR2004-041834
Date of Violation:  Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary:  Unknown
Offense Info:  Unknown
Trial Status:  Pending
Case Status:  Same
Defense Attorney: Jeff Fisher, Maricopa County Public Defender

AND

Case Name:  State v. Joshua Brandon Langston
Docket Number:  CR2006-030023
Date of Violation:  June 2006
Brief Summary:  Unknown
Offense Info:  Unknown
Trial Status:  Pending
Case Status:  Pending - No Impact from SB1302
Defense Attorney:  Jeff Fisher, Maricopa County Public Defender

 

Case Name:  State v. Iiya E. Shimonov
Docket Number:  CR2006-008283
Date of Violation:  September 2, 2005
Brief Summary:  Court gave defendant benefit of April 24, 2006 enactment
Offense Info:  Unknown
Trial Status:  Completed – No Impact from SB1302
Case Status:  Defendant found GUILTY
Defense Attorney:  Harla Davison, Maricopa County Public Defender
(602) 506-7711

 

Case Name: State v. Jose Manual Romero
Docket Number:  CR2005-014460 (1 CA-CR 06-0643
Date of Violation:  November 12, 2005
Brief Summary: Defendant’s request for State Burden denied
Offense Info:  C3F Agg Assault
Trial Status:  June 13, 2006 - Completed
Case Status:  Appeal pending re benefit of April 24, 2006 enactment not given
Defense Attorney:  Chuck Krull, Appeals - Maricopa County Public Defender

 

Case Name:  State v. Sosefo Sili
Docket Numbers: CR2005-032072
Date of Violation:  Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary:  Defendant’s request for State Burden Denied
Offense Info:  C3F Agg Assault Dangerous And C3Misdemeanor
Trial Status: Completed Defendant Found NOT GUILTY OF FELONY
Case Status: Pending Appeal - SB1302 would allow a retrial on the 
Misdemeanor conviction
Defense Attorney:  Eric Crocker, Maricopa County Public Defender

 

Case Name: State v. Charity E. Deatherage
Docket Numbers:  CR2005-123412
Date of Violation: Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary:  Defendant’s request for State Burden Denied
Offense Info:  C2F Murder
Trial Status:  Pending trial in 2 weeks (Webmaster note: As of the time I received this list)
Case Status: Set for trial
Defense Attorney:  Eric Crocker, Maricopa County Public Defender

 

Case Name: State v. Clifton Booker
Docket Number:  CR2003-016129-001
Date of Violation:  6/18/02 - Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary:  Guilty sentenced to DOC
Offense Info:  C3D
Trial Status:  Completed Guilty - Defendant’s request for State Burden Denied at trial
Case Status:  Appeal Pending – 
Defense Attorney: Chad Shell - (602) 625-4906

 

Case Name:  State v. ___________
Docket Number:  CR2005__________
Date of Violation: Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary:  Defendant requested Benefit of 4/24/06 enactment Comm. French  denied – SB1302 would impact this case on a Rule 32.
Offense Info:  Unknown
Trial Status:  Pending Appeal
Case Status: Same
Defense Attorney: Chad Shell – (602) 625-4906

 

Case Name:  State v. Sandra Luann Long
Docket Number:  CR2006-006410-001
Date of Violation:  1/7/06 - Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary:  Remanded to Grand Jury
Offense Info:  Unknown
Trial Status:  Pending Grand Jury remand/charging
Case Status:  Same
Defense Attorney:  Ken Huls (602) 279-5900

 

Case Name:  State v. Kenneth Woodfork
Docket Number:  CR2006-115499
Date of Violation:  Est. 3 weeks before Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary: 
Offense Info:  Unknown
Trial Status:  Pending Trial firm setting April 2007
Case Status:  Same
Defense Attorney:  Jennifer Stewart, Maricopa County Public Defender

 

Case Name:  State v. Jeremiah
Docket Numbers: CR2006 -100143
Date of Violation:  1/1/06 - Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary:  Defendant’s request for State Burden Denied
Offense Info:  Unknown
Trial Status: Pending Trial
Case Status:  Trial set for May 30, 2007
Defense Attorney:  Joel Thompson - Phillips & Associates
(602) 956-8191

Case Name: State v. ___________
Docket Numbers:  CR200____________
Date of Violation:   APRIL 24, 2006 – SB1302 will not impact Defendant falls under 4/24/06 enactment.
Brief Summary:  Unknown
Offense Info:  Unknown
Trial Status:  Pending Trial
Case Status:  Unknown
Defense Attorney: Ken Breger
(602) 682-5582
We are not sure if this is a Maricopa County case – Atty provided little information other than he had one that had a DOV on the original enactment date.

 

Case Name:  State v. Michael Colebeck 2006-008737-001
Docket Number:  CR2006-008737-001
Date of Violation:  November 5, 2005
Brief Summary:  One of two defendant Phoenix Police Officers charged with assaulting a prisoner at a M. County Sheriff’s facility.
Offense Info:  Aggravated Assault
Trial Status: Firm trial set for May 1, 2007
Case Status: Prosecutor may offer designation of charge to a misdemeanor.
Defense Attorney:  Robert Kavanagh (480) 831-3040

 

Case Name:  State v. Hain V. Price
Docket Number:  CR2006-008737-002
Date of Violation:  November 5, 2005
Brief Summary:  One of two defendant Phoenix Police Officers charged with assaulting a prisoner at a M. County Sheriff’s facility
Offense Info:  Aggravated Assault
Trial Status: Firm trial set for May 1, 2007
Case Status:  Prosecutor may offer designation of charge to a misdemeanor.
Defense Attorney:  Stanley Slonaker (602) 258-1121




MOHAVE COUNTY

The Mohave County Public Defender Office reports NO cases will be affected by the bill.

Case Name:  State v. Ramon Lopez
Docket Number: 
Date of Violation:  AFTER April 24, 2006 enactment – Retroactivity will not affect  this case.
Brief Summary:  Defendant protecting his family, himself and his home from  intoxicated thieves.
Offense Info: 
Trial Status:
Case Status:
Defense Attorney:  David G. Derickson (602) 277-6072





PIMA COUNTY

Case Name:  State v. ___________
Docket Number:  CR2005__________
Date of Violation:  Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary:  Defendant driver of a car and the alleged victims were  attempting to enter the car to assault my client when he shot  two of them. Victims are gang bangers
Offense Info:  First Degree Murder
Trial Status:  Pending Trial
Case Status:  Same
Defense Attorney:  Steve Sherick, (520) 318-3939

 

Case Name:  State v. Eugene Riveria
Docket Number:  CR2005-3133
Date of Violation:  July 17, 2005 - Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary:  Set for Trial on 4/3/07
Offense Info: Unknown
Trial Status:  Pending Trial
Case Status:  Same
Defense Attorney:  Rick Lougee (520) 882-2080

 

Case Name: State v. D. Jesse Smith
David Garcia v. Browning
(SUPREME COURT OPINION IN FEB)
Docket Number:  CR2007-Wl419645 (Westlaw Numbr)
Date of Violation:  12/5/04 Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary:  Case just received S. Ct. Opinion in February 2007
Offense Info:  First Degree Murder
Trial Status:  Pending Trial
Case Status: Same
Defense Attorney:  D. Jesse Smith and Anthony Payson II 

 


PINAL COUNTY

Case Name:  State v. Chance Lewis
Docket Number:  CR200__________
Date of Violation:  Pre April 24, 2006 enactment
Brief Summary: Unknown
Offense Info: Unknown
Trial Status:  Pending Trial
Case Status: Same
Defense Attorney:  Chad Shell – (602) 625-4906




YAVAPAI COUNTY

Case Name:  State v. Teresa Lee Hall
Docket Number:  CR2005-1251
Date of Violation: October 9, 2005
Brief Summary:  The court gave the new self defense instruction but refused to give  defense of property protection (incident occurred in defendant’s  campsite in forest).
Offense Info:  Ten Counts: Acquitted on Counts 3 through 10 (see below)
Trial Status:  Completed November 2006
Case Status: Notice of Appeal filed last week on Counts 1 and 2 
Outstanding Charges via Appeal:
(1) C2DNR AggAsslt (serious injury); (2) C3DNR Agg Asslt (deadly weapon 
[shotgun]; 
Completed via Acquittal:
(3) C6DNR Endangerment; (4) C6DNR Endangerment; (5) C6DNR Endangerment; (6) C6DNR Endangerment; (7) C6DNR Endangerment; (8) C6DNR Endangerment; (9) C6DNR Endangerment; (10) C6DNR Endangerment
Defense Attorney:  James G. O’Haver, Yavapai County Public Defender
(928) 771-3

 

Last Edited 05/03/2007
webmaster@haroldfishdefense.org